A turn for the retro

Last Sunday I became the proud owner of a NES.

My list of consoles now stands thus:

  • Commodore 64 (apparently we have 2 of these)
  • SEGA Mega Drive
  • PlayStation 2
  • Nintendo DS Lite
  • Nintendo Wii
  • XBox 360
  • NES
  • Fairly respectable, if I do say so myself. If it wasn’t for the fact that the Commodore setup require half a dining table to itself, then I would have one set up and playing it.

    Oddly enough, almost all of the people my age (and some older) that I’ve spoken to about the C64 had either not heard of it or never seen one. Neither of my parents are big on games; my mom has a DS Lite she never uses, and my dad gave up on Command and Conquer after Red Alert 2; which leaves me to wonder why they got one in the first place.

    If you’re a visitor to The Escapist then you may have spotted a video series called Loading Ready Run. I hadn’t spotted that series until a friend of mine was showing me something else on the site and flashed briefly past the video link. I immediately got the reference and laughed.

    I’ve since had to explain to six people that ‘Loading Ready Run’ is the boot sequence for any program on a C64. All of those six people were games students for various universities/colleges. I felt old; which was odd, considering I am younger than all of them.

    *

    The only bad thing about getting the NES?

    Two months ago my family gave all three of our CRT televisions to the British Heart Foundation.

    I completely forgot that I need one to run my Mega Drive. And now to run my NES.

    So this Saturday will involve a trip the to British Heart Foundation electronics shop to buy a second-hand portable CRT telly…

    ~ by Tegan on March 30, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
