In Silent Hill, the game plays you

I come across some interesting things whilst doing research for my course.

We have a choice of topics for one of our assignments and, me being the psychology nerd I am, chose to write it on Player Profiling. Whilst running a Google search for ‘player profiling video games’, the game Silent Hill: Shattered Memories stood out from the list of poker tactics sites and (rather oddly) the New Zealand rugby team website. Having not played the game, I turned to the resource most people now turn to for information.

Wikipedia only hinted at the fact that the game involves active player profiling, so it was back to Google. After some searching, I found an interview with the developers on Nintendo Life. I read it (and immediately put it as a reference for my assignment) and then spotted a video link.

Before I share it, I’ll explain. Shattered Memories gives the player scenes with a psychologist, Dr. K. In true psychologist style, he presents you with a series of tests that have no right and wrong answers, just ask you to do something that will give some indication as to what type of person you are. This is an interesting addition, and has been done before and since (anyone remember the G.O.A.T in Fallout 3?). But they player’s responses actually change the gameplay. The video below shows subtle differences, but different responses change locations, characters and even enemies.

I’m still reading up on this, but I am intrigued. I own both a PS2 and a Wii, and will hopefully be able to pick up a secondhand copy and try it for myself. But for now, I leave you with this picture and video:
Silent Hill Shattered Memories
Take a look at this lovely couple- and make a note of the colours.

Video excerpt from Silent Hill: Shattered Memories:

~ by Tegan on November 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
